News

Meet The Teacher: Dr. Blessing Okonkwo

Untitled-2

What was your job or occupation before coming to Lindblom?

BO: Before coming to Lindblom, I was a teacher’s assistant at the University of Manchester in Manchester, England. I was teaching part-time and I was getting my P.H.D at the same time. I moved to the United States in December 2014. While I was here, I’ve just been putting finishing touches to my thesis and applying for a job at the same time. That was how I got the interview here at Lindblom and finally got the job.

What school did you graduate from?

BO: I’m from Nigeria so I went to the University of Benin where I graduated from and got my degree. My degree was in production engineering. In 2009, when I moved to England, I got my master’s there in Advanced Manufacturing Technology and Systems Management and completed that in 2010. In 2011, I started my P.H.D. It wasn’t planned, I had it in mind to go back to Nigeria and go into a teaching job because by that time I knew I loved teaching. But I got a scholarship with the Schlumberger Faculty for the Future Foundation to do a P.H.D in Mechanical engineering and I took the offer.

What are you looking forward to here at Lindblom?

BO: I’m looking forward to a lot of things. I’m looking forward to making an impact, a positive one. Especially in the students. I’m looking forward to learning from them as much as they will learn from me. And I’m looking forward to a great successful year here.

Do you like anything about the school so far?

BO: I love the students. My students are awesome!

Do you have any hobbies or other interests other than teaching engineering?

BO: I love traveling, sports and exercising. Oh, and I love volleyball! I can’t wait to see how the volleyball team here plays.

Categories: News

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

