News

Global Glimpse On the Move!

By: Koty McCoy

Global Glimpse Students--Brazil.jpg

If you had the opportunity to travel out of the country at the age of 16 and 17 would you go? Not only travel out of the country but also get the chance to mingle with other ethnicities other than your own. That sounds pretty awesome right?!

“That sounds like a great opportunity for students to get to see a world outside of the United States,” senior Alondra Lopez said. Now that you have some idea of what global glimpse is let’s take a deeper look into it shall we?

Global Glimpse is a program that we have here at Lindblom. It is a program where students in the 11th grade get the opportunity to travel out of the country to get a glimpse of Latin America, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic. Unfortunately, this program is not offered to anyone except juniors which is kind of unfortunate because I’m sure there are other students who would love to have a chance such as this.

“I wish there was an opportunity like this offered when I was a junior,” senior Tavis Thompson said.

Currently, Sgt. Walker and Mr. Baker are extremely excited about the trip and can’t wait to start traveling. Teens at Lindblom are also eager about the trip; only 13 students are able to travel and 13 students have been accepted to travel. That’s pretty awesome, and it is a great opportunity for students to see a different world. When I had the chance to travel with the People to People Ambassador Program, it was absolutely fantastic. I was able to stay with a French family and learn about their culture which was a huge eye opener for me.  

Personally, I wish I had the chance to travel with my school, that way I’m with people that I know, as opposed to not knowing anyone and traveling throughout Europe with people I do not know. Global Glimpse is a great opportunity, and I hope the students that decided to embrace this fantastic traveling experience have a wonderful time. For those students who will be juniors next year, more information about traveling can be found at globalglimpse.org.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply

