Opinion

Why it’s Almost Time To Move Away From Chicago

170747484-e1371523598115.jpgBy: Jalen Carter

February was a very heartbreaking month for the city of Chicago, and myself personally.

On Feb. 8, two girls, Takiya Holmes and Kinari Bowers, were shot in the head during two different incidents.

Six days later on Feb. 14, a two year old boy, Lavontay White, was shot and killed in the car with his uncle.

Instances like these make me afraid to live in the city of Chicago, which is why it is almost time to pack my family up and move away.

I have a four year old sister who I worry about everyday. I would not be able to live with myself if the same thing were to happen to her.

My mother and I have had conversations about moving away from Chicago since I was 11 years old, but it has yet to happen. With me being a junior in high school, it makes no sense to leave now. But once I graduate, I will take this proposal into deep consideration.

Do I love the city of Chicago? Absolutely 100 percent. This city has been great to me, and it will always be home to me. However, all the killings of young children and teenagers is making my love fade away. I do not want to leave, but at the same time, I do not want to be that kid who loves the city that kills him.

Categories: Opinion

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

